RedHat/Free IPA Status ???

March 25, 2009

free-ipa-logo_small

First of all, for those who did not know what is IPA :

IPA is an open source identity and access management solution that centrally manages identity, policy, and audits for users, machines, and services in your Linux and Unix environment.

– Well a great tool for those who do not want to manage a bunch of Linux servers with local authentication –

In addition, you can use it freely via http://www.freeipa.org/page/Main_Page or with Red Hat support via http://www.redhat.com/enterprise_ipa/

So, WHY this post ? Just to present IPA ?

Definitively not !
Well, indeed I heard the Red Hat support for IPA will stop soon for unknown reasons.
My first reaction was for those who taken this decision : Did they think about current IT projects which planned to use IPA ?
My second reaction was : Why did Red Hat launch the product officially then few month ago ?
My third reaction was : If Red Hat took effectively that decision, they probably have good reasons but what did they propose in order to replace it ? Penrose virtual directory ? Symark PowerBroke ? or others ? Not sure, these one responds to the needs of my clients.

Let’s hope it is just a false rumour cause if it is the case I do not think for my part it is a good choice even if project without support still continue to evolve.

Maybe, with this post I will have more explanations about this rumours.

10 Responses to “RedHat/Free IPA Status ???”

  1. Robert said

    I hope those rumors are unfounded, I have been using FreeIPA as an easy to use front end to manage authentication based on a LDAP users/groups datastore, using Kerberos for Samba, Squid proxy, IMAP/SMTP mail. The current FreeIPA makes easy to manage that to my customers, and it will be bad if Red Hat stops supporting a project with a lot of future, because something so easy to used like FreeIPA is needed

  2. wzzrd said

    Wow. Can you please provide information as to where you heard this? I’m lurking a bit on the freeipa-devel mailinglist, but I don’t recall reading about this.

    I do recall Simo Sorce of Red Hat posting patches to the mailinglist until as recently as yesterday, so at least they haven’t dropped the project yet.

    Also, Simo presented to product at Fosdem, slightly over a month ago.

    If they launched the product and if someone bought it, they’ll have to keep supporting it to keep their credibility.

    I really hope so anyway. I kinda like IPA.

    • Frederic Hornain said

      Dear wzzrd,

      Is it really important to know where I heard that information ?
      My intention was to have reactions about this decision (if it is true) and show by the number of reader (more than 50 in 30 minutes) what Red Hat could loose if they would decide to stop support for IPA. And for the moment, well, I think I win my bet.

  3. Dmitri Pal (Development Manager of IPA project) said

    Red Hat is fully behind freeIPA project. The project is very active and there is no plan to reduce our focus on it. We are currently deep in development phase of the freeIPA v2 building:
    * client components
    * new pluggable and extensible UI
    * policy managament
    * audit collection
    etc.
    We are even starting to look beyond v2 to what we might do next.
    We are reworking the packaging of the Red Hat supported version of IPA. This is probably the origin of the confusion.

    • Frederic Hornain said

      Dear Dimitri,

      Well, really happy to hear from Red Hat that Red Hat had never planned to reduce or stop the support RH IPA and the project FreeIPA.
      Thanks for your comments and thanks a lot for your work.

  4. Maxim said

    I’d say, yes, the source is important, because it is by the source that the credibility of information is judged. It’s all academic now, of course, because of Dimitri’s reassuring comment. Ty for that, btw, Dimitri.

    • Frederic Hornain said

      Dear Maxim,

      When you wrote : “I’d say, yes, the source is important, because it is by the source that the credibility of information is judged.”….
      Well, I am completely agree with your point of view.

      Nonetheless, if I permit myself to react precisely to that information via my blog it is because I had good reasons to trust the person who gave me the information.
      Believe me, I would not post it if I have had any doubt;

      And as Dimitri explain in his post, this situation is probably due to a misunderstanding.
      – For them who know me : OK English is not my cup of tea but this misunderstanding is not coming this time from myself😉 –

      In addition, when I wrote “Is it really important to know where I heard that information ?”
      I meant : What do it change for the community to know WHO give me that information ?
      Is not be more important to know that information is not clear for everyone ???

      Finally, for my part I think this post had anyway a good effect. it demonstrates IPA is a great application and it interest a lot of people. And that is definitely a good point for Red Hat, Fedora Linux and the community, isn’t ?

      BR
      Frederic

  5. Jan Wildeboer said

    @frederic:

    “Nonetheless, if I permit myself to react precisely to that information via my blog it is because I had good reasons to trust the person who gave me the information.”

    With that same reasoning we have recently seen:

    – Dell buys Red Hat!
    – Oracle buys Red Hat!

    Rumours are evil. If in doubt, you can always directly ask the people in charge on the ipa mailing lists. Or wrt Red Hat, you can always ask me:

    Jan Wildeboer, Red Hat EMEA Evangelist, Munich

    So in cunclusion: Happy hacking with IPA! We have work to do, let’s do that!
    😉

    • Frederic Hornain said

      Dear Jan,

      > We have work to do, let’s do that!
      +1 with that point however following your post I will use anyway my “right of reply” and after I will stop this.

      > Rumours are evil.
      +1 but I admit rumours was not probably the more appropriate word I should have to used .

      > If in doubt, you can always directly ask the people in charge on the ipa mailing lists.
      Be sure, that before my post I checked if it was not already mentioned in the IPA mailing list. And it wasn’t !
      In addition, I did not think at that time mailing list was the appropriate place to have that kind of discussion.
      I explain : In case of Ipa would have been stopped, my objective was to demonstrate to everyone that people who have taken that supposed decision they would do a mistake.
      And asking the question directly to IPA related community could have been reductive – as current and futur users are not necessarily in that mailing list so I would missed my target.
      Well, anyway following what I have seen on my blog statistics and related comments I think I show you there is a lot of interest behind IPA.

      > wrt Red Hat, you can always ask me: Jan Wildeboer, Red Hat EMEA Evangelist, Munich
      Well, be certain next time I will do it😉 before posting that kind of information.

      To finish that comment, please accept my apologies if my post disturbed you.

      Thank you so much for your attention, your time and your comments.
      Have fun with Open Source !

      BR
      Frederic

Leave a Reply

